Monday, July 21, 2014

Kevin Schultz: The 30 Things You Didn't Know

Kevin Schultz grew up in Alexandria, KY, a relatively small town, where his high school graduating class was somewhere around 400 students. Today, he is a creative writing and journalism double major at Northern Kentucky University. This summer, Schultz, 22, was accepted into the extremely selective and prestigious ASME internship program and was placed at Scientific American in New York City. As an editorial intern, he spends his days interviewing researchers, writing stories, transcribing interviews and interpreting whatever scientific lingo gets thrown his way. And, he loves it.

For those who are well acquainted with Schultz, there’s a chance they could rattle off a somewhat similar synopsis of his everyday life. It may not be so likely that they'd know that Whip It is his guilty-pleasure movie, Rasinettes are his snack of choice, or, even, that his favorite scent includes “all the smells of autumn.”

Here are the 30 things you had no idea you didn’t know about the writer/coffee lover/music enthusiast that is Kevin Schultz:

3 adjectives that describe you? I resorted to asking my friends. Here are what they came up with (way more than three): insightful, fashionable, open minded, organized, adventurous, hard working, creative, chill, studious, independent

Most likely found: At the nearest coffee shop downing the largest cup of black coffee I can find, with my nose in a book or writing on my laptop.That’s basically my life.

One unique thing about where you are from?
I live in Northern Kentucky. Naturally, most people think I live in the mountains with no shoes and/or limited teeth. But in reality, I’m about 15 minutes from downtown Cincinnati and 10 minutes from the beautiful bluegrass countryside. It’s a nice mix of city and country living, contrary to most popular beliefs about Kentucky life.

One thing you could never live without?
My dog, Roscoe.

Siblings?
Two sisters. I’m the youngest.

Favorite food?
Anything and everything -- besides black tea, beef and Swedish fish. Although, I really do love salads, Greek yogurt and Indian food.

One thing most people don’t know about you?
Both of my parents are twins.

Favorite thing about journalism?
Being able to tell stories that change lives.

Middle name?
Edward

Dream job?
I would love to be a writer/editor for an innovative digital and/or print publication, where I could have a meaningful and important contribution with a focus on areas of environmental science or general science and how it affects everyday people.

Favorite band?
It’s a tie. Beach House, Radiohead, The Smiths and Animal Collective. Also Grizzly Bear, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Deerhunter, The Mamas and The Papas, Fleetwood Mac, San Fermin, Wild Belle, The Black Keys, and so many more.

One thing you love about NYC?
Coffee shops on every corner.

One thing you hate about NYC?
Lack of convenient public bathrooms.

Dream car?
I’d prefer to walk, bike, or take public transportation.

Totally grosses you out?
Someone filing his or her nails next to me. Although, I wouldn’t say it “grosses me out,” so much as it drives me insane.

Life motto?
Never give up, be who you are and always follow your passion no matter what.

Best thing about this summer?
I’m living one of my wildest dreams. (Yes, I said wildest. I am a pretty tame dreamer.)

Hardest life lesson you’ve ever learned?
Don’t wear funny costumes around town, or you WILL be in the local newspapers.

Italian food or Mexican?
Both.

Favorite hobby?
Reading, writing, listening to music, hiking, brunching and playing with my dog.

Most embarrassing moment?
Sophomore year of college: I get sick before hosting the SGA debate. I ran down the hallway and ended up throwing up outside of a classroom full of students. As they awkwardly watched me spew my chicken noodle soup all over the doorway, I slipped and fell in the vile and eventually got up, walked to my car, and left my dignity on the third floor of Founder’s Hall.

Favorite sport?
Shadow dancing. No, I’m kidding (long story). I’m not much into sports these days.

Best feature and qualities you look for in a significant other?
Eyes. And, then, intelligence, individuality and style.

Favorite workout?
Running.

Least favorite workout?
Anything arm related. Let’s be real.

Favorite alcoholic beverage?
Cincinnati has tons of great craft beer. I’d say anything from Rhinegeist is pretty great. Although, ultimately, I probably should say I’m more of a wine guy.

Dream celeb to spend a day with?
I don’t know if this counts because she is deceased, but I’d have to say Sylvia Plath. She seems like such an interesting and fascinating person from her writing, that I would love to spend a day with her.

Where you see yourself in 5 years?
I would love to say I would be working for a digital or print news publication of some sort (magazine, newspaper, etc.) and working up the chain of command, but as far as actually where, I have no idea. I’m pretty open to moving wherever I can find the job that I would best be able to contribute to in a meaningful way.

One thing you love about Scientific American?
I work with some of the most intelligent and talented people I have ever met, doing a job I could only dream of having in the future.

One thing you love about ASME?

I am constantly surrounded by passionate people who are following their dreams. It’s so nice to be surrounded by people who love what they do. The environment is motivating and inspiring, to say the least.

Written by Anna Hecht, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, FITNESS Magazine
Edited by Maya Allen, Howard University, Woman's Day Magazine 

No comments:

Post a Comment